Home > How to > Does parental vitamins mess with your period?

Does parental vitamins mess with your period?


My husband and I decided that we want to start trying to have a baby in May. I went to my OB and got on prenatal vitamins a little under a month ago. I am suppose to start my period this week. It is a few days late. My husband and I have played around a little but have always used protection. I took a pregnancy test just in case. It was a first respounse one and it came up negative. I feel like my period could start any time, but nothing yet. A very small amount of spotting, very dark. So my question, could my parental vitamins make my period late? What do you think?

Thanks

Categories: How to Tags: , , ,
  1. hadley
    June 27, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    It is best to take Prenatal Vitamins before you start trying to conceive. It doesnt hurt anything.It will not mess up your period. If your period doesnt come and you only spotted there could be a chance your are pregnant. I mean I dont know your situtation,I knwo you said you ahve been using protection, but if you spot around the time of your period it could be implantation spotting if your pregnant.

  2. angeltear757
    June 27, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    No. Prenatal vitamins are nothing more then a multi-vitamin with a few extra things or larger amounts that a pregnant/lactating/or pre-pregnant woman may need. Things that could mess with your period would be fertility drugs or stress.

  3. angel girl
    June 27, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Prenatal vitamins should not effect your period. They are simply to boost the vitamins to ensure a healthy pregnancy.

  4. spicycatII
    June 27, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    No, they shouldn’t cause any problems… Iron does cause dark spotting though…. might also constipate you and give you darker stools…. See your doctor again…. Could just be stress… thinking about having a child can be quite stressful.

  5. Mama Drama
    June 27, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Nope. It’s probably just mental. Lots of women skip a period once they start trying to conceive. It’s that whole “watched pot never boils” sort of thing. Good luck to you!

    5 mamas dish the dirt… http://blogs.chron.com/mamadrama/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

